new welney sign

The Welney Website

Local Government in and around Welney

page created Feb 2005, amended/updated Monday, 19 November 2012
new welney sign

General introduction

There are three levels of local government in this area:
  • County Councils: These are the highest level, responsible for services such as education, waste management (recycling and disposal but not collection), public libraries & museums, social services, roads, transport, consumer protection, police, fire and strategic planning. Counties are divided into Boroughs which have their own Councils providing local services as below.
  • Borough Councils: responsible for services such as housing, waste collection, council tax collection (for all levels), local planning, licensing, cemeteries and crematoria. Boroughs are divided into Civil Parishes which have their own Councils
  • Parish Councils: These are the lowest tier and have very limited responsibilities, some of which may have been delegated down from the Borough Council.
    Note, Parish Councils here means Civil parishes, not Ecclestiastical parishes which are controlled by the Church and are not part of local Government.The two can cover the same area but are frequently quite different.
For details of local authority services such as education, health care, public libraries, police and fire, see our Information page, or use the links below to the official sites.
If you have visited this page before you may need to "refresh" the page to see the latest version. Also, please "allow blocked content" (if prompted) to view correct layout & features.
(Both notes apply to all pages).
  For those in Norfolk, the local councils and their websites are: parish boundary map Welney and surrouding areas. showing Welney Parish boundary.
click for larger view
  For those in Cambridgeshire west of the Washes, the councils are:
  For those in Cambridgeshire east of the Washes, the councils are:
back to top of page   any comments?  please e-mail